first_img The criteria for Queen’s counsel appointments include: Twelve Nova Scotia lawyers were appointed today, Dec. 19, asQueen’s counsel. Justice Minister Michael Baker made personalphone calls to each lawyer to congratulate them for beingrecognized for their contributions to the practice of law. “These individuals have earned the respect of their colleaguesand clients, and have demonstrated leadership in theirprofession,” said Mr. Baker. “They have also been keen supportersof legal scholarship, teaching and continuing legal education. Weappreciate their efforts.” The appointees, their firms and the year they were called to thebar, include: Gerald MacDonald, LeBlanc MacDonald, Port Hawkesbury, 1973; Michael King, Cooper and MacDonald, Halifax, 1973; Ross Haynes, The Haynes Group of Lawyers, Halifax, 1975; Louise Poirier, Nova Scotia Department of Justice, Halifax, 1975; Patrick Burke, Burke and MacDonald, Lunenburg, 1978; Michael Donovan, Department of Justice (Canada), Halifax, 1978; Harvey Morrison, McInnes Cooper, Halifax, 1979; Peter Lederman, Archibald and Lederman, Truro, 1980; Mark David, Baxter Harris Heonakis, Halifax, 1982; Jan McKenzie, Cox Hanson O’Reilly Matheson, Halifax, 1984; Geoffrey Machum, Stewart McKelvey Stirling Scales, Halifax, 1985; Robert Fetterly, Nova Scotia Public Prosecution Service, Halifax, 1984. a minimum of 15 years as a member of the bar of Nova Scotia; demonstrated professional integrity, good character and outstanding contributions to the practice of law; consideration of regional, gender and minority representation. Recommendations were made to cabinet by a nine-member advisorycommittee chaired by Justice Walter Goodfellow of the SupremeCourt of Nova Scotia. Members of the committee are RobertBelliveau, Q.C., Jamie Campbell, Q.C., D.A. (Sandy) Fairbanks,Q.C., Craig Garson, Q.C., Guy LaFosse, Q.C., Carman McCormick,Q.C., Valerie Miller, Q.C., Karen Ralph and David Wallace, Q.C.last_img read more